Supervisors and Staff

Cypress Preserve District Board of Supervisors

A CDD is a unit of local government like a county or a city, although it does not have the regulatory powers of a county or city. CDDs are governed by a five member Board of Supervisors, elected initially by Cypress Preserve District landowners on a one vote to one-acre basis.  Commencing no sooner than six years following creation of the Cypress Preserve District, and only after there are at least 250 qualified electors, Supervisors whose terms are expiring may be elected by qualified electors (typically residents) of the Cypress Preserve District. Like all municipal elections, the Office of the Supervisor of Elections oversees the vote. CDD Supervisors are subject to Florida ethics and financial disclosure laws. Board meetings are governed by the Florida “Sunshine” law, and therefore, must be noticed in a local newspaper and conducted in a public forum. Subject to the requirements of the public records law, CDDs must make District records routinely available for public inspection during normal business hours. These requirements, as well as the governmental reporting and auditing requirements imposed on CDDs by law, ensure that CDDs are visible and accessible.

Seat 1

Exp. 2021

Brian Howell,
Chair
brian.howell@merituscorp.com
Seat 2

Exp. 2021

Eric Davidson eric.davidson@merituscorp.com
Seat 3

Exp. 2019

Debby Nussel,
Vice Chair
debby.nussel@merituscorp.com
Seat 4 VACANT
Seat 5 VACANT
District
Manager
Brian Lamb,
Meritus
brian.lamb@merituscorp.com
District
Counsel
John Vericker,
Straley & Robin
jvericker@srwlegal.com
District
Engineer
Paul E. Skidmore,
Florida Design Consultants
pskidmore@fldesign.com